Drivers in Missouri and Kansas are required by law to carry liability insurance coverage. Liability insurance pays to repair damages you cause to other drivers and vehicles. This insurance includes bodily injury and property damage liability.
An auto insurance policy in Missouri or Kansas must include the following minimum amount of liability coverage:
When you are at fault for a collision, the other driver and their passengers can file a claim under your liability coverage to pay for their damages up to policy limits.
Bodily injury liability insurance is critical to carry because it will cover the costs of any injuries you cause in an accident with another driver, their passengers, or pedestrians. The types of expenses covered include:
There are two types of bodily injury liability coverage. The first is the amount covered per person, which is $25,000, and the second amount is how much is covered per accident, $50,000. This means your policy will pay for $25,000 worth of medical expenses, lost income, etc., per person involved in the collision, but no more than $50,000 total, regardless of how many people were injured.
The third type of liability coverage that insurance policies must include is property damage liability. This coverage will pay for the costs to repair or replace the other driver’s car, any other damaged property, such as to a fence or tree, any personal items (e.g., cellphone, clothing, laptop, car seat, etc.), and for their rental vehicle if necessary. However, property damage liability insurance will only pay up to $10,000 in expenses unless you purchased additional coverage.
When a car accident claim exceeds your liability policy limits, one of two things will usually happen. (1) You will have to voluntarily pay for the exceeding costs out-of-pocket, or (2) the injured party will file a lawsuit to get a judgment against you for these costs. If the injured party receives a judgment against you and you fail to pay, they can put a lien against you and your assets. If that were to happen, you would need to pay the judgment in full or set up a payment plan so your assets are not seized, or wages garnished. Many drivers choose to purchase policies with higher liability coverage limits than the minimum amounts required by law to avoid this possibility. However, your ability to do so will depend on how much coverage you can reasonably afford to pay for each month.
Call us today to speak with our St. Louis car accident attorneys.
fields required *