Understanding Missouri Uninsured Motorist laws can be challenging. Uninsured motorist insurance is a type of coverage that comes into play when another driver involved in an accident does not have car insurance. Although the state requires every driver to carry liability insurance, thousands do not have it.
The Missouri Uninsured Motorist Statute requires drivers to maintain some form of uninsured motorist coverage. The minimum amount required is $25,000 for bodily injury per person and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident. Vehicle owners must also show proof of liability insurance, with the minimum level of coverage required by state law being:
According to a report by the Office of the State Auditor of Missouri, insured drivers lose approximately $90 million dollars every year due to uninsured motorists.
Residents in Missouri who have been involved in a motor vehicle accident can file an uninsured motorist claim with their own insurance company when:
There are two types of situations that uninsured motorist coverage will typically cover in Missouri; uninsured at-fault drivers and hit and run accidents. When a driver causes a collision and does not carry car insurance then you have the right to file a claim against your own insurer. Your insurance company may require proof that the at-fault driver was uninsured. Uninsured motorist coverage will also cover accidents when the other driver involved takes off. However, many insurers will attempt to deny your claim or avoid paying.
There are certain policy provisions to be aware of:
If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident with an uninsured driver, speak to a highly qualified St. Louis car accident attorney at Goldblatt + Singer. We can help you recover the compensation you are entitled to. Call (314) 888-1000 or fill out our online contact form to get your free consultation.
fields required *