When driving in the state of Missouri, there are bound to be times when you need to slow down or stop to let another vehicle or pedestrian pass. That is why the state has right of way laws in place, even in the absence of signs or signals. Failing to observe them may result in penalties, or in some cases a car accident. It is important to understand the state’s right of way laws to ensure the safety of both you and those you share the road with.
The right of way laws in Missouri can be summarized as follows:
Failing to comply with Missouri right of way laws can result in a fine of $30.50 and court costs of $66.50 totaling $97, as well as two demerit points on your driver’s license.
In addition to legal ramifications, failing to yield the right of way when required by law to do so may lead to a serious accident. Accident claims that involve a right of way dispute, can mean dueling arguments as to which party is at fault. These situations can be best addressed by an experienced car accident lawyer familiar with Missouri law. That way, strong evidence can be collected on your behalf to support your claim.
If you have been injured in an accident that involves a violation of Missouri’s right of way laws, it is important to seek the help of a St. Louis car accident attorney that will fight for your maximum compensation. Our consultations are free, call (314) 888-1000 or reach us online today.
fields required *